Legal Summary

Alaska Gun Laws

  Open Carry: Lawful
  Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Required by law to notify the officer upon official contact or when ID requested
  State Parks: Concealed Carry is legal in accordance with state laws that regulate the right to carry
  Restaurants Serving Alcohol: A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree if the person knowingly possesses a loaded firearm on the person in any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises; HOWEVER, one is exempt if one is at a restaurant and did not consume intoxicating liquor at the place.
  Firearms at Colleges: Schools individually decide the weapons policy
  Firearms at K-12 Schools: Alaska permittee must unload and encase gun.
  Church Carry: Churches act like any other private property and may restrict
on a church by church basis
  Hotels: No legal restriction - Reference article on page 67
  Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions
  Suppressor Ownership: Lawful
  Vehicle Possession Without Recognized Permit: Any person who can legally own a firearm can possess a loaded handgun openly or concealed in a vehicle
  Firearm Law Uniformity: Uniform across state
  Permit Training Requirements: Must take a state approved handgun course which shall include knowledge of Alaska law relating to firearms and deadly force, familiarity with the basic concepts of safe and responsible use of handguns, knowledge of self-defense principles, and physical competence with a handgun.
  Non-Resident Permits: Alaska does NOT issue permits to non-residents
  Constitutional Carry: Yes. No permit is required to open carry or concealed carry for both residents and non residents. Open carry is 18+ and concealed carry is 21+.
  Duty to Retreat: No Duty to Retreat
  Places Off Limits: A public or private school for grades K-12, including the school grounds, parking lot or on a bus
while used for a school sponsored activities, unless the person carrying the firearm has the permission
of the chief administrative officer of the school or the school district.
Note: a person 21 years of age or older who is not a student may possess an unloaded firearm in the
trunk of a motor vehicle or encased in a closed container of a motor vehicle.
 Any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises, except a restaurant
where the person carrying the firearm did not consume intoxicating liquor.
 Any licensed child care facility if the facility is other than a private residence.
 Within a courtroom or office of the Alaska Court System, or within a courthouse that is occupied
only by the Alaska Court System and other Justice-related agencies.
 Within a domestic violence or sexual assault shelter that receives funding from the state.
 Within another person's residence, unless the person carrying the firearm has first obtained the
express permission of an adult residing there to bring the firearm into the residence.
  Resident Permit Reciprocity:
  State Contact Info: Alaskan State Police
5700 E. Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507
  Permit Issuing Authority: Alaska State Police
  Length of Permit Validity: 5 years
  Permit Application Process: Apply in person at an office of the Alaska State Troopers, Alaska Wildlife Trooeprs, or a municipal police department authorized to accept Alaska permit applications. Best to review the required paperwork on the state site.
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.